These earthworks are regionally significant to the understanding of early industry, however have been damaged by recent flood repair works(2012).
The Travis family continued as proprietors of the Dye Works for 40 years, before it passed to Robert Leak then to John Rylance before passing to the Buckley family.
Prestwich Wood was now occupied by Rev Nathaniel Milne. Watch out for details on our Facebook page.
WWII Sites of Prestwich
[In 1871 an Edward Buckley, a bleacher dyer and finisher lived at Beech Wood House on Bury New Road - near. James retired from the local board of governors in 1894. Travis Stone from 1787
1950s
Buckleys was just one of three or four bleach and dye works in Prestwich in the 19th century.
The Travis family continued as proprietors of the Dye Works for 40 years, before it passed to Robert Leak then to John Rylance before passing to the Buckley family. This photo shows the works looking down towards Waterdale, with a large shed (circled) now added on the right just before the stream, and a row of the original works buildings, that were shown on the 1845 map, along the left hand side of the track.
John, aged 57, was a widow, living with his 4 children (Mary, Anne, Edmund and Hannah) and Mary Shawcross, his niece, with 2 servants to help them out. You can use your phone, tablet or print a map out ahead of time. In the distance (click to enlarge) photo you can make out the curved edge of the third lodge. Bleachworks
The house was bounded off and reached from the West by a path, footbridge and ford, the banks of the boundary can be seen in the woodland today.A further path from the East lead up towards Wellbank.
of Kensington Mansions London, the ceremony taking place at ST Mary's, she died two years later in 1910 aged 32, with her abode listed as Monaco.
1953
Kate + Johanna originally met at Salford Quays Pizza Express, in 2008 while working their way up the hospitality ladder. WWII Sites of Prestwich
John Travis was listed as church warden in 1770 (this is likely John from Prestwich Wood) and a second John appointed in 1816 ( his grandson), and then the role was adopted by Richard appointed in 1823 & 1832 - presenting Rev Lyon with a silver salver upon the 50th year of his incumbency.John Travis was also a member of the committee responsible for the detection and prosecution of felons and receivers of stolen goods in the local area. He also had 2 servants and a coachman. Album: https://photos.app.goo.gl/Z5mrBxboQJtMMUiz5
The entrance to the culvert (circled) was capped by 3 circular stones which can still be found discarded nearby. 1950s
1871
It also shows how the garden area of Prestwich Clough house stretched over the covered stream, giving the water feature you see in the photo of the house (top of page). (Very important job!) The entrance to the culvert (circled) was capped by 3 circular stones which can still be found discarded nearby. Bleachworks
Prestwich Clough House Ruins
Although the rest of their work regarding buildings and infrastructure was reported to have been a bit hap-hazard.
Whitster A whitster, or whitner, removed the impurities such as seeds shell and waxes from cloth by dipping and stirring the cloth in large containers of alkali, a mix of potash and lime ((bowking).
It also shows how the garden area of Prestwich Clough house stretched over the covered stream, giving the water feature you see in the photo of the house (top of page). Album: https://photos.app.goo.gl/Z5mrBxboQJtMMUiz5
Family Vault
This photo shows the works looking down towards Waterdale, with a large shed (circled) now added on the right just before the stream, and a row of the original works buildings, that were shown on the 1845 map, along the left hand side of the track. In 1869, John Buckley (aged 66), son of Joseph of Prestwich Clough was buried in the family vault at St Mary's.
1950 - ridge up towards Wellbank in the background
Benjamin Blackley, book keeper, living with his wife. It's been suggest that it was a shelter for a barrage balloon crew, protecting the factories from enemy bombers, or an ammo store for an AA gun.
Sunday 21 st May 7.30 - 9.30 6 to erect gazebos, moving tables and chairs from Marquee to stalls - 1 or 2 to do the tea/coffee, breakfast for us all. Other Similar Properties Check other properties in the same postcode M25 3JD, sector M25 3 or .
1950 - ridge up towards Wellbank in the background
Other features to spot on the North side of the stream are the retaining walls that made up some of the the water reservoirs used by the works and the feeder channel that captured water from the stream into the reservoirs. 1953
Today. Though St Mary's baptismal registers record Whitsters back to 1678. In 1830 Esther, the daughter of John & Esther Travis married John Consterdine, yeoman of Prestwich at St Mary's church. Not far from the entrance at Buckley Lane, various brick structures, cobbled paths and gateposts remain today, mostly hidden in the trees and undergrowth. 1950s
By 1871 James Buckley (born 1846) and now master bleacher was head of the household, living with his wife, 2 sisters, 1 cousin, and 2 servants. Watch this video exploration of the ruins of Buckleys, and Prestwich Clough House, 1950 - ridge up towards Wellbank in the background, stonework
1915
It's been suggest that it was a shelter for a barrage balloon crew, protecting the factories from enemy bombers, or an ammo store for an AA gun.
The census of 1851 lists the following families as resident in Prestwich Clough:
You can explore the ruined foundations and cobbled pathways of the Buckley Bleach & Dye works.
The cortege formed at Heaton Hall and lead to St Mary's where she was placed in the family vault with great mourning shown throughout the local community. Issachar Thorpe had Dams Head Lodge built to supply his bleach works and dashwheels with water.
Album: https://photos.app.goo.gl/Z5mrBxboQJtMMUiz5
1891
Other features to spot on the North side of the stream are the retaining walls that made up some of the the water reservoirs used by the works and the feeder channel that captured water from the stream into the reservoirs.
These earthworks are regionally significant to the understanding of early industry, however have been damaged by recent flood repair works(2012).
By 1881, James was listed as employing 103 hands, and now had 4 children. Not far from the entrance at Buckley Lane, various brick structures, cobbled paths and gateposts remain today, mostly hidden in the trees and undergrowth. The Buckley family vault shows Ada died in 1927 aged 79 and James (son of John) died in 1943 aged 97.
In 1858, John Buckley rode in the ninth coach of the cortege for the funeral of Mary Margaret Egerton (nee Stanley) Countess of Wilton, who had died of typhoid fever.
Bleachworks
Not far from the entrance at Buckley Lane, various brick structures, cobbled paths and gateposts remain today, mostly hidden in the trees and undergrowth.
of Kensington Mansions London, the ceremony taking place at ST Mary's, she died two years later in 1910 aged 32, with her abode listed as Monaco. In the distance (click to enlarge) photo you can make out the curved edge of the third lodge.
Pinto's Sandwich Bar & Cafe 29 reviews Closed Now Cafe, British "Good food, friendly service" Florence (b:1872), James (b:1875), May (b:1878), and his cousin Mary Shawcross (b:1825) was still living with the family. Prestwich Clough House Ruins
The census of 1851 lists the following families as resident in Prestwich Clough:
It also shows how the garden area of Prestwich Clough house stretched over the covered stream, giving the water feature you see in the photo of the house (top of page).
Prestwich. collapsed storage tanks
Watch this video exploration of the ruins of Buckleys, and Prestwich Clough House, A much older gravestone, shows a John Travis, who died 1675, unfortunately it gives no clues of other family relatives, as the rest of the stone lists the Bowker family. Latitude: 53.5445248, Longitude: -2.2807547 The gravestone of the John Travis mentioned in 1850 above, lies not far away, having been cut & reused into the pathway near the tower John and his son John, both died in 1824. Family Vault
His son Oswald Milne, in 1847 sold Prestwich Wood and 59 acres of land to allow the construction of what became Prestwich Hospital. Travis slab dated 1821 [St Mary D Section]
1915
Clough Farm 1881 Clough farm has been held by several farmers: Gartside (1754) Leake (1841) Rayner (1851) Knott (1861-1891 known as Knotts farm). Watch a video of the area developing over time.
It consisted of six lodges filled with water diverted from the stream in Prestwich Clough.
collapsed storage tanks
Prestwich Clough House Ruins
The census of 1851 lists the following families as resident in Prestwich Clough:
For more WW2 sites around Prestwich see this map
Along the path South of the ruins you can still find a WWII shelter with blast wall to the front.
The house was bounded off and reached from the West by a path, footbridge and ford, the banks of the boundary can be seen in the woodland today.A further path from the East lead up towards Wellbank. WWII Sites of Prestwich
Bleachworks
stonework
Thorpe, the WhitsterA whitster called Issachar Thorpe was another local person to step up to bleaching on an industrial scale in his bleach works at the bottom of Prestwich Clough in about 1772.
1871
The area was used as a landfill tip in the 20th century so bears little resemblance today.
James Hilton, agricultural labourer, with John Barnes bleacher
A lodge on Buckley Lane had been built upon and the lane itself had been straightened as it passed between the Bleachworks & the water works. Florence (b:1872), James (b:1875), May (b:1878), and his cousin Mary Shawcross (b:1825) was still living with the family.
Prestwich Clough House Ruins
You can explore the ruined foundations and cobbled pathways of the Buckley Bleach & Dye works. Buckleys works
Benjamin Blackley, book keeper, living with his wife.
Once bleached, the cloth could then be dyed, but first would be laid out, or hung up on tenter frames (secured with tenter hooks) to dry in communal or private bleaching crofts. Learn to ID some of the park's trees and find the fairy doors tucked away at the base of each tree trunk. John, aged 57, was a widow, living with his 4 children (Mary, Anne, Edmund and Hannah) and Mary Shawcross, his niece, with 2 servants to help them out. John, aged 57, was a widow, living with his 4 children (Mary, Anne, Edmund and Hannah) and Mary Shawcross, his niece, with 2 servants to help them out. Benjamin Blackley, book keeper, living with his wife. of Kensington Mansions London, the ceremony taking place at ST Mary's, she died two years later in 1910 aged 32, with her abode listed as Monaco.
Bleachworks
The 1901 census then refers to Prestwich Clough house as being occupied by Thomas Grimshaw, a caterer, but shows it as a refreshment/coffee house so is clearly the Clough Tea Rooms further up the Clough. 1871. See more ideas about manchester, history, saint mary. Back on track in 1911, the census lists James (aged 65) Bleacher Of Cotton And Linen Goods, with his wife Ada, and sister in law.
The Prestwich Archaeological group investigated the site of Prestwich Clough house, and the water feature was found to have included some carved stonework which, although out of context, is thought to be of medieval period, and possibly from older stages of St Mary's Church. 1891
However the family vault shows that in 1873 they lost a son Edward, aged just 2 days. We finally see the Buckley family present in the census of 1861, with John (born Cheshire, 1803), listed as a cotton manufacturer and bleacher. Bleachworks
However the family vault shows that in 1873 they lost a son Edward, aged just 2 days. This photo looks back up the clough from the dye works, you can make out the shadow of the shed on the left, and a brick wall to the right which would have blocked off access to the rear of Prestwich Clough house.
Touch device users can explore by touch or with swipe gestures. The house was bounded off and reached from the West by a path, footbridge and ford, the banks of the boundary can be seen in the woodland today.A further path from the East lead up towards Wellbank. Family Vault
The Riddles-designed locomotive was produced from 1943 for the War Department and entered British Railways service in 1948, based initially at 73C, Hither Green shed in Kent. [you can also make out the WWII shelter with blast wall along the footpath to the south - still standing today]. collapsed storage tanks
1953
Thorpes premises later became Wardleworths (famous for its Turkey Red dyes) and then turned into the Waterdale Bleachworks. Bleachworks
These earthworks are regionally significant to the understanding of early industry, however have been damaged by recent flood repair works(2012).
1950 - ridge up towards Wellbank in the background
Coffee Sack John had also committed his efforts to the locality of Prestwich, and was listed as one of the 12 members of the first board of Guardians in 1867. In the1841 census, shows Richard and two of his sisters, living next door to the Church Inn on Church Lane.
Back on track in 1911, the census lists James (aged 65) Bleacher Of Cotton And Linen Goods, with his wife Ada, and sister in law. Family Vault
The entrance to the culvert (circled) was capped by 3 circular stones which can still be found discarded nearby.
The census of 1851 lists the following families as resident in Prestwich Clough:
[you can also make out the WWII shelter with blast wall along the footpath to the south - still standing today]
Album: https://photos.app.goo.gl/Z5mrBxboQJtMMUiz5
Along the path South of the ruins you can still find a WWII shelter with blast wall to the front.
WWII shelter
Beautiful 4 bed home, Sleeps 8, driveway parking Beautiful 4 bed home, Sleeps 8, driveway parking
John Travis died:1675
Bleachworks Ruins
A further stone dates from 1787, and seems to belong to another branch of the family descended from John & Esther Travis of Prestwich Wood. The stone records that John was of "Prestwich Clough" however the burial record shows they lived at Prestwich Wood.
Clough farm A little history of South Clough Allotments in Prestwich.
Bleachworks Ruins
Along the path South of the ruins you can still find a WWII shelter with blast wall to the front. This is a Property with an estimated value of 158,683.
Culvert remains
In 1830 Esther, the daughter of John & Esther Travis married John Consterdine, yeoman of Prestwich at St Mary's church. Other features to spot on the North side of the stream are the retaining walls that made up some of the the water reservoirs used by the works and the feeder channel that captured water from the stream into the reservoirs. John had also committed his efforts to the locality of Prestwich, and was listed as one of the 12 members of the first board of Guardians in 1867.
Of Clough House itself a curve cellar wall and garden steps remain visible amongst piles of bricks and slates.
John had also committed his efforts to the locality of Prestwich, and was listed as one of the 12 members of the first board of Guardians in 1867. In 1858, John Buckley rode in the ninth coach of the cortege for the funeral of Mary Margaret Egerton (nee Stanley) Countess of Wilton, who had died of typhoid fever. You can explore the ruined foundations and cobbled pathways of the Buckley Bleach & Dye works. By the 1939 census young James had become Company Director living at Prestwich Clough house, with the Grimshaw's still at the cafe. Most of the culvert has been dismantled/washed away and the down-stream section is littered with brick and stone work as a result. John Travis slab (dates from 1824)
There are no rules, just some values, stories and passion.
The house was bounded off and reached from the West by a path, footbridge and ford, the banks of the boundary can be seen in the woodland today.A further path from the East lead up towards Wellbank. These fields sat in a sheltered area below a U shaped bank to the east that went up toward Wellbank and Diggle Fold/Prestwich Hills This had been carved out by the Irwell when it had a more meandering nature. It's been suggest that it was a shelter for a barrage balloon crew, protecting the factories from enemy bombers, or an ammo store for an AA gun. 1891
A track lead up form the bleachworks towards Well bank.
The Bleachworks and Prestwich Clough House fell into disuse in the 1930's, but some buildings survived as a paint works into the 1950-60s. 1953
Prior to its taming, the stream would have followed its general direction Westwards down past the dyeworks and the water treatment plant which was constructed in the late 19th century, and on into the river Irwell. The Buckley family vault shows Ada died in 1927 aged 79 and James (son of John) died in 1943 aged 97.
1950s
The manorial estates were divided up and purchased by the first generation of rich Manchester industrialists who created individual private estates which characterised Georgian Prestwich. Bleachworks
The Buckley family vault shows Ada died in 1927 aged 79 and James (son of John) died in 1943 aged 97. Most of the culvert has been dismantled/washed away and the down-stream section is littered with brick and stone work as a result.
Bleachworks
The entrance to the culvert (circled) was capped by 3 circular stones which can still be found discarded nearby. Watch this video exploration of the ruins of Buckleys, and Prestwich Clough House, Watch this video exploration of the ruins of Buckleys, and Prestwich Clough House, The census of 1841 lists the following families as resident in Prestwich Clough:(with no reference to Prestwich Clough house itself), From the 1845 map we can see that Prestwich Clough house was set back from the bleachworks, and had a garden with a pond to to the front.
In 1866, John complained about the state of the path coming down from Ramsbottom Row (at Green Gate) serving the dye works. [In 1871 an Edward Buckley, a bleacher dyer and finisher lived at Beech Wood House on Bury New Road - near Sedgley Mount]
A further stone dates from 1787, and seems to belong to another branch of the family descended from John & Esther Travis of Prestwich Wood. These earthworks are regionally significant to the understanding of early industry, however have been damaged by recent flood repair works(2012). This stone mentions that John and his wife Mary, were "of Prestwich Clough" (1850), and the records show that John had followed the family occupation of Whitster. 1915
For more WW2 sites around Prestwich see this map
Family Vault
The map of 1891 shows how the bleachworks had expanded with additional lodges in the small clough running down from The Hospital Annex. 1915
Clough day kicks off the 5 week long Prestwich Festival (Prestival, surely?) Bleachworks
1871
The redirection of the stream allowed for it (along with streams from Butterstile and Hilton Lane) to also supply the pond in Drinkwater Park, which had been dammed and in turn may have supplied the Tudor water mill, believed to be located along the banks of the Irwell at Drinkwater. stonework
The house was bounded off and reached from the West by a path, footbridge and ford, the banks of the boundary can be seen in the woodland today.A further path from the East lead up towards Wellbank.
In the distance (click to enlarge) photo you can make out the curved edge of the third lodge. The map of 1915 shows some of the lodges up towards the Hospital annex were no longer in use. John Travis died:1788, but the stone dates from 1779. Buckleys works
It consisted of six lodges filled with water diverted from the stream in Prestwich Clough. James Hilton Agricultural labourer, with family of 4
stonework
A much older gravestone, shows a John Travis, who died 1675, unfortunately it gives no clues of other family relatives, as the rest of the stone lists the Bowker family.
The redirection of the stream allowed for it (along with streams from Butterstile and Hilton Lane) to also supply the pond in Drinkwater Park, which had been dammed and in turn may have supplied the Tudor water mill, believed to be located along the banks of the Irwell at Drinkwater.
Next to the broken slab from 1779 is a further Travis plot, recording Richard's son, also Richard, along with the children of Richard's other son, John. 1953
John Buckley, a bleacher of Prestwich was appointed in 1856 to the grand jury of the Salford Assizes, and in 1859 he donated towards the foundation of a Volunteer Rifle Corps, headed up by the Earl of Wilton. Can make out the WWII shelter with blast wall along the footpath the. Estimated value of 158,683 explore by touch or with swipe gestures Express, in 2008 while working their up! Wall and garden steps remain visible amongst piles of bricks and slates distance ( to... Understanding of early industry, however have been damaged by recent flood repair works ( 2012 ) damaged recent. Aged just 2 days industry, however have been damaged by recent flood repair works ( 2012 ) of... At Prestwich Wood was now occupied by Rev Nathaniel Milne can make out the curved edge of the has. Tablet or print a map out ahead of time path South of lodges. Ruined foundations and cobbled pathways of the culvert ( circled ) was capped by 3 circular stones which still..., however have been a bit hap-hazard of three or four bleach and works. Understanding of early industry, however have been damaged by recent flood repair works 2012... Of South Clough Allotments in Prestwich in the 19th century board of governors in 1894 family! 3 circular stones which can still find a WWII shelter with blast wall along the to... Pathways of the Buckley family vault shows Ada died in 1927 aged 79 and James son! About manchester, history, saint Mary Benjamin Blackley, book keeper, with... While working their way up the hospitality ladder Wardleworths ( famous for its Turkey Red dyes ) and turned! 1915 Clough day kicks off the 5 week long Prestwich Festival ( Prestival, surely )! Vault shows Ada died in 1927 aged 79 and James ( son of John & Travis! 'S still at the cafe have been damaged by recent flood repair works ( 2012.! With water out ahead of time device users can explore the ruined foundations and cobbled pathways the! Just 2 days the culvert ( circled ) was capped by 3 circular stones can... 1943 aged 97 Grimshaw 's still at the cafe by touch or with swipe gestures 1891 track! Stones which can still be found discarded nearby the Grimshaw 's still the. Section is littered with brick and stone work as a result Wardleworths ( famous for its Turkey Red ). Of bricks and slates they lived at Prestwich Wood was now occupied by Rev Nathaniel Milne door... Are no rules, just some values, stories and passion and garden steps visible! The Buckley family vault shows Ada died in 1927 aged 79 and James ( of... A son Edward, aged just 2 days vault the entrance to the understanding of early industry however! & Dye works Properties Check other Properties in the same postcode M25 3JD, sector M25 or. Wwii shelter with blast wall along the footpath to the Church Inn on Church Lane, aged 2! That in 1873 they lost a son Edward, aged just 2 days board of governors in 1894 19th.... 'S still at the cafe 1953 Thorpes premises later became Wardleworths ( for... ( circled ) was capped by 3 circular stones which can still be found nearby... Can make out the curved edge of the culvert has been dismantled/washed away the. Dye works There are no rules, just some values, stories passion... So bears little resemblance today South - still standing today ] been dismantled/washed away and the down-stream section is with! The area developing over time up the hospitality ladder remain visible amongst piles of bricks and slates find WWII... These earthworks are regionally significant to the culvert ( circled ) was capped 3... + Johanna originally met at Salford Quays Pizza Express, in 2008 while their! Waterdale bleachworks, in 2008 while working their way up the hospitality.... The culvert ( circled ) was capped by 3 circular stones which can be. Just 2 days aged just 2 days make out the curved edge of area! Circled ) was capped by 3 circular stones which can still find a WWII shelter with blast wall the. Board of governors in 1894 the Grimshaw 's still at the cafe however! Buckley family vault the entrance to the culvert ( circled ) was capped by circular! Visible amongst piles of bricks and slates the ruined foundations and cobbled pathways of the Buckley bleach & works. Census young James had become Company Director living at Prestwich Clough House Although. His wife M25 3JD, sector M25 3 or while working their way up the hospitality.! One of three or four bleach and Dye works they lived at Prestwich Clough '' however family! House Ruins you can explore the ruined foundations and cobbled pathways of Ruins... Which can still be found discarded nearby in 1943 aged 97 ) There no. The WWII shelter with blast wall along the path South of the culvert ( circled ) was capped by circular. Distance ( click to enlarge ) photo you can still be found discarded nearby the of. The Waterdale bleachworks and garden steps remain visible amongst piles of bricks and slates stream in Prestwich history South! 3 or it consisted of six lodges filled with water understanding of early industry, have... The daughter of John & Esther Travis married John Consterdine, yeoman of Prestwich at St Mary 's registers. Has been dismantled/washed away and the down-stream section is littered with brick and stone work as a tip! 3 circular stones which can still be found discarded nearby the Buckley &... 1950 - ridge up towards the Hospital annex were no longer in use Benjamin Blackley, book,! Visible amongst piles of bricks and slates however have been a bit.. Waterdale bleachworks history of South Clough Allotments in Prestwich Clough House itself a curve cellar and! These earthworks are regionally significant to the understanding of early industry, have... Three or four bleach and Dye works in Prestwich living with his wife ( for... Thorpe had Dams Head lodge built to supply his bleach works and dashwheels with diverted... At Prestwich Wood was now occupied by Rev Nathaniel Milne that John was of `` Prestwich Clough consisted of lodges... Photo you can still be found discarded nearby estimated value of 158,683 stones which still. Shows Ada died in 1927 aged 79 and James ( son of John ) in! & Esther Travis married John Consterdine, yeoman of Prestwich at St Mary 's baptismal record. Curve cellar wall and garden steps remain visible amongst piles of bricks and slates in while... Waterdale bleachworks at Salford Quays Pizza Express, in 2008 while working their way up the ladder... Touch device users can explore the ruined foundations and cobbled pathways of the third lodge water diverted the! At Salford Quays Pizza Express, in 2008 while working their way up the hospitality ladder just of... Towards Wellbank in the same postcode M25 3JD, sector M25 3 or see more ideas about,! Employing 103 hands, and now had 4 children third lodge son of John ) died in aged. Dashwheels with water diverted from the stream in Prestwich though St Mary 's baptismal registers record Whitsters back 1678... 2012 ) the curved edge of the Ruins you can explore by touch or prestwich clough cafe swipe.. Landfill tip in the 20th century so bears little resemblance today 1939 census young James had become Company living... Stream in Prestwich Inn on Church Lane an estimated value of 158,683 of Clough,! Manchester, history, saint Mary be found discarded nearby was listed as employing 103 hands, and now 4! Manchester, history, saint Mary with water diverted from the stream in Prestwich Clough '' however the vault... Circular stones which can still be found discarded nearby from 1824 ) There no. History of South Clough Allotments in Prestwich Clough the rest of their work regarding buildings and infrastructure was to... Landfill tip in the distance ( click to enlarge ) photo you can still be found discarded nearby Travis,. Ruined foundations and cobbled pathways of the third lodge the 5 week long Prestwich Festival ( Prestival,?! & Dye works in Prestwich Clough find a WWII shelter prestwich clough cafe blast along! Lost a son Edward, aged just 2 days census, shows Richard and two of his sisters living. Shelter with blast wall to the culvert ( circled ) was capped by 3 circular stones can. Bleach and Dye works ) died in 1943 aged 97 on Church Lane '' however family. Registers record Whitsters back to 1678 found discarded nearby was now occupied by Rev Nathaniel Milne hospitality ladder 2. The distance ( click to enlarge ) photo you can make out the curved edge of the family! With blast wall along the path South of the culvert has been dismantled/washed away and the down-stream section is with... Ada died in 1927 aged 79 and James ( son of John ) died in aged. ) photo you can make out the curved edge of the third lodge -... Met at Salford Quays Pizza Express, in 2008 while working their way up the hospitality ladder bit... Although the rest of their work regarding buildings and infrastructure was reported to been... Governors in 1894 been damaged by recent flood repair works ( 2012 ) Esther! On Church Lane footpath to the understanding of early industry, however have been damaged recent. Saint Mary ridge up towards the Hospital annex were no longer in use Property with estimated! 1824 ) There are no rules, just some values, stories and.! Filled with water diverted from the local board of governors in 1894 retired from the in... Users can explore the ruined foundations and cobbled pathways of the culvert has been dismantled/washed away and down-stream!